Chocolate & Childhood

“One espresso escape and One drinking chocolate.” She said.

Me, my partner and my sister (who is visiting us for a month) were at Ghiradelli Square a couple of days ago. Despite that the place is a tourist trap and the quality of their products is not extraordinary, we salivated at our chocolate delicacies; within minutes, all the cocoa disappeared.

It reappeared in the form of hysteria.

Just like regular intoxication, we have no clarity on how it all started. My sister and I began to laugh at some childhood games that we used to play. One thing lead to another and we cracked up on how strangely senseless those games were. And yet, so much fun that they gripped us for the rest of the night. We had to leave Ghiradelli before we got arrested for ‘suspicious’ behavior. I am not kidding, we couldn’t control our laughter.

When we reached home, my partner decided to film our games, replayed after 20 years or so. These days, that video brings me out of intermittent episodes of depression.

It’s strange that when we are children, things make less sense and are a lot of fun. As we grow old, we try to find sense in everything that we do and miss out on a lot of fun.

Hence, I refuse to grow up.

Read the rest of this entry »